John Psathas
Jeff Henderson 

Jeff Henderson is a pivotal figure in New Zealand arts and music.  He is a multi-instrumentalist, improvisor, composer and performance maker who regularly collaborates with theatremakers, dancers, artists and performers. His long term collaborators include Taonga Puoro specialist Dr Richard Nunns, performance artist, musician Gerard Crewdson, theatremaker Stephen Bain and pianist Marilyn Crispell to name a few.

Recently he has composed and performed for contemporary music ensemble Stroma, toured NZ and Japan with drummer Shoji Hano, directed the play ‘First June’ by Melody Nixon and collaborated with Australian experimental film maker Louise Curham.

He has toured and performed throughout New Zealand, Australia, South East Asia, Japan, Korea, Europe and the USA and has had the opportunity to perform with many leading figures in jazz, improvised and experimental music such as saxophonists Steve Lacy,  Kris Wanders, Evan Parker and Jim Denley, drummers Han Bennink, Clifford Barbaro, Tony Buck and Mark Sanders, electronic mavericks Toshimaru Nakamura, Jason Kahn, Thomas Lehn and Phill Niblock, pianists Anthony Pateras, Mike Nock and Chris Abrahams, guitarists Eugene Chadbourne, Tetuzi Akiyama and Marco Fusinato, and many more.

In New Zealand Henderson founded two performance venues in Wellington which he operated and managed for ten years, founded and operated the Bomb the Space Festival of Experimental music, was artistic director of the Wellington International Jazz Festival for ten years and publishes recordings on two record labels.

His collaborators in New Zealand have included Alan Brunton and Sally Rodwell, Madeline Macnamara, Anthony Donaldson, David Long, Steve Roche, Janet Roddick and David Donaldson, Dugal Mckinnon, John Downie, Kilda Northcott, Florian Habicht, Marc Chesterman, Leila Adu, Tom Callwood, Paul Dyne, Roger Sellars, Campbell Kneale, Kieran Monaghan, Daniel Beban, Chris O’Connor, John Bell and many others.

In 2008 Henderson received an Arts Foundation new generation award.

For more information, visit Jeff Henderson